Can’t Wait Wednesday #3 : “Burning Girls and Other Stories” by Veronica Schanoes

Can’t Wait Wednesday is a weekly meme hosted by Trella @ Wishful Endings. It’s based on Waiting on Wednesday, which is hosted by Jill @ Breaking the Spine, and is all about casting a spotlight on books we have yet to read, especially ones that haven’t been released yet.

This Wednesday, I can’t wait for…

Blurb

When we came to America, we brought anger and socialism and hunger. We also brought our demons.

In Burning Girls and Other Stories, Veronica Schanoes crosses borders and genres with stories of fierce women at the margins of society burning their way toward the center. This debut collection introduces readers to a fantasist in the vein of Karen Russell and Kelly Link, with a voice all her own.

Emma Goldman — yes, that Emma Goldman — takes tea with the Baba Yaga and truths unfold inside of exquisitely crafted lies. In “Among the Thorns,” a young woman in seventeenth century Germany is intent on avenging the brutal murder of her peddler father, but discovers that vengeance may consume all that it touches. In the showstopping, awards finalist title story, “Burning Girls,” Schanoes invests the immigrant narrative with a fearsome fairytale quality that tells a story about America we may not want — but need — to hear.

Dreamy, dangerous, and precise, with the weight of the very oldest tales we tell, Burning Girls and Other Stories introduces a writer pushing the boundaries of both fantasy and contemporary fiction.

Release Date

March 2, 2021

Why I Can’t Wait

I’m an angry woman. I think quite a few women are, and this sounds like exactly the book to read when I want to be mad at the world. I’m curious about how socialism figures into the narrative, and who doesn’t want to read about Emma Goldman drinking tea with Baba Yaga? I’m hazarding a guess that at least a few of these stories involve fairytale re-tellings that center on modern social issues, which is something I’m always invested in.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: